Owsley joins list of Eastern Kentucky counties eligible for FEMA assistance

In the wake of flooding accordings in Eastern Kentucky, residents of Owsley County are now eligible for assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency, to a Thursday announcement.

Individual households in Owsley County can now apply for FEMA Individual Assistance, which can offer flood victims temporary housing assistance, help with basic home repairs and other expenses that insurance won’t cover.

You can start your claim by applying at disasterassistance.gov, by calling 800-621-3362 or by using the FEMA mobile app.

Owsley County joins Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Knott, Letcher, Perry and Pike counties, which were previously approved for federal relief.

Here’s what you need to apply:

  1. A current phone number where you can be contacted
  2. Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying
  3. Your Social Security number
  4. A general list of damage and losses
  5. Banking information if you choose direct deposit
  6. If insured, the policy number or the agent and/or the company name

Do you have a question about recovery in Kentucky for our service journalism team? We’d like to hear from you. Fill out our Know Your Kentucky form or email ask@herald-leader.com.

Aaron Mudd is a service journalism reporter with the Lexington Herald-Leader based in Lexington, Kentucky. He previously worked for the Bowling Green Daily News covering K-12 and higher education. Aaron has roots in Kentucky’s Fayette, Marion and Warren counties.
Support my work with a digital subscription

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.